VCMS Presents: Jane Coop & Seattle Symphony Players

Presented by the Vancouver Chamber Music Society (VCMS) in collaboration with Anvil Theatre.

Joseph Haydn – String Quartet in D Major, Op. 50, No. 6, “The Frog”
Maurice Ravel – String Quartet in F Major
Johannes Brahms – Piano Quintet in F Minor, Op. 34

Pianist Jane Coop, one of Canada’s most prominent and distinguished artists, is joined by handpicked musicians from the Seattle Symphony to present a rousing program for New Westminster audiences.

At the age of nineteen, Coop won First Prize in the CBC’s national radio competition (the Young Performer’s Competition) and went on to launch an international career with recital debuts at Wigmore Hall and Carnegie Hall. She has given concerto performances with symphonies across Canada. Jane Coop’s love of chamber music led her to collaborate with artists from many parts of the world. Coop is a cherished faculty artist at Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival, the oldest chamber festival in North America. In 1992, she was the founding Artistic Director of the Young Artists’ Experience – a summer chamber music program for students from the age of 14 to 19 which took place in Whistler, BC.

In December 2012, Jane Coop was appointed to the Order of Canada, our country’s highest honour for lifetime achievement. She was also appointed to the Order of British Columbia in May, 2019.

Subscriptions for the series are available by calling 604-521-5050

Vancouver Chamber Music Society

The Vancouver Chamber Music Society is the leading presenter in western Canada of high-calibre chamber music featuring world-renowned chamber ensembles, and solo and recital artists. Their program, steeped in the rich tradition of classical music, meets contemporary audiences in a familiar and intimate way at the modern theatre space in New Westminster’s modern Anvil Centre.

Event Details